Always in the Middle...

Three years ago I became serious about becoming an author. “Read books your audience is reading” was the first advice I latched onto. For twenty years I had been reading middle grade books out loud to kids, but at home and leisure time I spent time mostly with books for adults.

I made the change and began devouring every middle school book in sight. Of course there were long stares in airports or other public places as people saw my nose buried in TIMMY FAILURE or MIDDLE SCHOOL, THE WORST YEARS OF MY LIFE. But other more understated titles often brought interest from whoever was seated in 12F.

After reading dozens of titles, the original advice was spot on and I have observed a few things that have changed me as a reader and a writer.

  1. I find writing flows better after a reading session. The creative juices get cranked…

View original post 141 more words

